Berry Scarf (because it reminds me of blueberries)

by eleighb

I started this project in 2007 and it has haunted me for four years.  The particular cable/eyelet pattern I chose to undertake is a difficult one.  Two kinds of cabling that have to be a mirror image of one another, plus a cable in the center, surrounded by double yarn-over eyelets.  I don’t know what I was thinking.  While beautiful, this pattern is very easy to mess up.  One mistake and I was ripping my rows to start over.  It instilled in me a hesitation to work on the scarf for fear of making a mistake and losing months of work.  I was only able to produce about three feet of material which is not enough for a proper scarf.  Sadness.

One day, I found the solution I was looking for.  While browsing some scarf patterns online, I came across this.  “How clever!” I thought.  I decided to forgo the long scarf I originally set out to make, cut my losses, and turn my three feet of material into a V shaped scarf by simply sewing the ends together.  The result is extremely satisfying.

Knit with #8 straight needles; cable needle; and Caron Simply Soft in Heather

The pattern can be found in Knitting Little Luxuries by Louisa Harding.

The Head sporting the scarf.

My head sporting the scarf.

Pattern close up.

